All of the subscription resources listed here can be accessed at Research Databases > History
Search the library catalogue for resources specific to your topic.
Browse the FC section of the library to find books on the history of Canada. Sample titles include:
- A Brief History of Canada / FC 164 R53
- History of the Canadian Peoples (3 volumes) / FC 164 H57
- The Illustrated History of Canada / FC 164 I44
Historical maps and atlases can help you to visualize the course of history by illustrating changing geopolitical boundaries, trade and exploration routes, historical landmarks, and more.
- Historical Atlas of Canada: Canada's History Illustrated with Original Maps / G 1116 S1 H39
- Historical Atlas of Canada (3 volumes) / G 1116 S1 H58 (Oversize)
E-Books (Electronic Books)
The library subscribes to individual ebook titles and to ebook collections. Titles of interest for Canadian history include:
- History: North & South America (Ebrary Ebooks)
- A History of Canadian Culture
- Oxford Companion to Canadian History
These general reference works contain entries and essays on important people, places and events in Canadian history.
See the Research Databases > History page for a more complete list of e-books.
Search article databases to find journal & magazine articles. Recommended databases for Canadian History include:
More databases can be found at: Research databases > History
A complete list of databases can be accessed from our homepage: FIND > Research Databases
These are just a few of the Canadian History-related journals that you can access online or through Selkirk College Library. Click on the links to find out where you can access these journals.
- British Journal of Canadian Studies
- Canada's History
- Canadian Heritage
- The Canadian Historical Review
- Canadian Military History
- The History of the Canadian West
- Journal of Canadian Studies
- Journal of the Canadian Historical Association
- Directory of Open Access Journals
There is a wealth of valuable material on the history of Canada available online. These select web sites contain links to primary- and secondary-source document collections, maps, timelines, digital image collections and more.
- Connecting Canadians: Canada's Multicultural Newspapers
- Images Canada: Picturing Canadian Cultures
- World Wide Web Virtual Library
- : Canadian History
- Voice of the Shuttle History Links: Canada
- Canadiana: Digital Archives and Collections
- Canadian Geographic Historical Maps of Canada ONLINE
- Government of Canada Maps ONLINE
- OVERSIZE W.H. Pugsley Collection of Early Canadian Maps (McGill) ONLINE
- Our Roots: Canada's Local Histories Online
- Multicultural Canada: Encyclopedia of Canada's Peoples ONLINE
- University of Toronto Guide to Writing about History ONLINE
Reading and Writing Guides
Reading and writing guides are available in the library for you to use during every stage of the research and writing process. Take a look if you want to improve your critical thinking, reading, and writing skills.
- Chicago Style: Research and Documentation Online ONLINEThe Prentice-Hall Guide for Student Writers (Canadian Edition) PE 1408 R44 2002
- The Canadian Historical Review
- A Short Guide to Writing about History D 13 M26 2005