Library

Western Civilization

Background Information | E-Book Collections | Web Sites | Article Databases | Journals | Reading and Writing Guides

Background Information

General Works

These select sources are intended to give the reader a general overview of the history of Western Civilization. Please check the Library catalogue or browse the shelves for more print resources specific to your topic or time period.

  • A Brief History of the Western World CB 2454 G74 2002
  • Civilizations: Culture, Ambition and the Transformation of Nature CB151 F47 2001
  • A History of Western Society CB 245 M265 2003
  • The No-Nonsense Guide to World History D 23 B72 2001

Reference Works

These period-specific reference works contain entries on important people, places and events in history.

Historical Atlases

Historical maps and atlases can help you to visualize the course of history by illustrating changing geopolitical boundaries, trade and migration routes, battle sites, and more.

| top of page |

E-Book Collections

E-books are available from Selkirk College Library. For more e-literature and primary-source documents, browse these collections to read texts online or to download free books to your computer or e-reader.

Web Sites

There is a wealth of valuable material on the history of Western Civilization available online. These select web sites contain links to primary- and secondary-source document collections, interactive timelines, games and quizzes, digital image collections and more.

| top of page |

Article Databases

Search article databases to find journal & magazine articles on all areas of the history of Western Civilization.  Recommended databases include:

More databases can be found at:  Research databases > History

A complete list of databases can be accessed from our homepage:  FIND > Research Databases

 

Journals

These are just a few of the Western Civilization-related journals that you can access through Selkirk College Library. If you are interested in a specific time period, event, or theme, there may be a journal here for you. Click on the links to find out where you can access these journals.

| top of page |

Reading and Writing Guides

Reading and writing guides are available in the library for you to use during every stage of the research and writing process. Take a look if you want to improve your critical thinking, reading, and writing skills.

| top of page |