History of British Columbia and the West Kootenay
These select sources are intended to give the reader a general overview of the history of British Columbia and the West Kootenay. Please check the Library catalogueor browse the shelves for more print resources specific to your topic, time period, or geographical area.
- British Columbia: A History of the Province FC 3811 W64 1990
- The Illustrated History of British Columbia FC 3811 R45 2001
- Lifting the Fog: An Enquiry into Early West Kootenay History E 99 S21 P42 1999 Local collection
- A Picture History of British Columbia FC 3811 W66 1980
- West Kootenay: The Pioneer Years FC 3845 K6 B386 1990
These general reference works contain entries and essays on important people, places and events in British Columbia and West Kootenay history.
- British Columbia Place Names FC 3806 T48 2009
- Dictionary of Canadian Biography ONLINE
- Encyclopedia of British Columbia FC 3804 E52 2000
- Multicultural Canada: Encyclopedia of Canada's Peoples ONLINE
Historical maps and atlases can help you to visualize the course of history by illustrating changing geopolitical boundaries, trade and exploration routes, historical landmarks, and more. Search the Library catalogue to find print maps of British Columbia and the West Kootenay.
E-books are available from Selkirk College Library. For more e-literature and primary-source documents, browse these collections to read texts online or to download free books to your computer or e-reader.
There is a wealth of valuable material on the history of British Columbia and the West Kootenay available online. These select web sites contain links to primary- and secondary-source document collections, maps, timelines, digital image collections and more.
- CPR Station Museum: Pioneer Interviews
- Images Canada: Picturing Canadian Cultures
- World Wide Web Virtual Library: Canadian History
- Voice of the Shuttle History Links: Canada
- Canadiana: Digital Archives and Collections
- Directory of Open Access Journals
- Library and Archives Canada
Look beyond the library catalogue to find images, documents, scholarly articles and more on all areas British Columbia and West Kootenay history.
More databases can be found at: Research databases > History
A complete list of databases can be accessed from our homepage: FIND > Research Databases
Journals and Newspapers
These are just a few of the Canadian History-related journals that you can access online or through Selkirk College Library. Click on the links to find out where you can find these journals.
- BC Studies
- British Columbia Historical News
- British Columbia History
- The History of the Canadian West
Selkirk College Library has a number of historical newspapers preserved on microfilm in the Minto Room. These are a few of the local titles we have. Click on the links to find out what issues are available in our archives.
- Arrow Lakes News
- Castlegar News
- Grand Forks Gazette
- The Kootenaian
- Nelson Tribune
- Rossland Miner
- Trail Daily Times
Minto Room and Local Archives
Many of the materials relating to the history of British Columbia and the West Kootenay are stored in the Minto Room at the Selkirk College Library. Explore the Minto Room to find rare materials related to the history of the West Kootenay, including archival fonds, microfilm, monographs, newspapers, and pamphlets. Items in the Library catalogue that are stored in the Minto Room will have LOCAL listed as their item location.
There are many other local museums with archives that you may wish to visit in the course of your research. Below are links to the homepages of these institutions.
- CPR Station Museum, Castlegar
- The Creston Museum
- Kootenay Lake Archives, Kaslo
- Revelstoke Museum and Archives
- Rossland Historical Museum
- Royal BC Museum, Victoria
- Touchstones Nelson
- Trail Museum and Archives
Reading and writing guides are available in the library for you to use during every stage of the research and writing process. Take a look if you want to improve your critical thinking, reading, and writing skills.
- Chicago Style: Research and Documentation Online ONLINE
- The Prentice-Hall Guide for Student Writers (Canadian Edition) PE 1408 R44 2002
- A Short Guide to Writing about History D 13 M26 2005 University of Toronto Guide to Writing about History ONLINE