Library

Integrated Environmental Planning Technology

Background Information | Books and E-Resources | Article Databases | Journals | Websites | Research and Writing Guides

Background Information

These select sources are intended to give the reader a general overview of aspects of Integrated Environmental Planning. Please check the Library catalogue or browse the shelves for more print resources specific to your topic.

You may also want to see some of the other Selkirk College Library Environment and Geomatics subject guides for more information.

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias and Directories

  • Canadian Environmental Resource Guide TD 171.5 C2 C3 2012 / 2013 (Reference)
  • A Dictionary of Environment and Conservation GE 10 P375 2008
  • The Encyclopedia of Earth ONLINE

Environment and Ecosystems

  • Applications and Investigations in Earth Science QE 44 T37 2009
  • Botany QK 47 B673 1995
  • Biogeoclimatic Ecosystem Classification (BEC) System Educational Training Site ONLINE
  • Difco Manual On reserve in library
  • Elements of Ecology QH 541 S624 2006
  • Environmental Hydrology GB 665 W28 2004
  • Environmental Microbiology QR 100 E577 2009
  • Environmental Science: A Canadian Perspective GE 160 C3 F74 2010
  • The Living Landscape: An Ecological Approach to Landscape Planning HD 108.6 S74 2008
  • Soils in Our Environment S 591 M733 2001
  • Standard Methods for the Examination of Water and Wastewater QD 142 A5 2005 (on reserve)
  • Technical Mathematics with Calculus TA 330 E85 2001
  • Traditional Ecological Knowledge and Natural Resource Management GF 501 T73 2006
  • Wildlife Ecology and Management SK 355 B65 1999

Technology Manuals

  • Concepts and Techniques in Geographic Information Systems G 70.212 l627 2002
  • GIS for Dummies G 70.212 D465 2009
  • Introduction to GPS: The Global Positioning System G 109.5 E6 2006
  • Remote Sensing for Ecology and Conservation: A Handbook of Techniques QH 75 R46 2010

Environmental Policy

Data and Statistics

Maps

| top of page |

Books and E-Resources

The Selkirk College Library has many books, e-books, and streaming videos on the subject of Integrated Environmental Planning. When searching the library catalogue, it may be useful to start with search terms such as:

  • Biodiversity
  • Botany
  • Ecosystem management
  • Ecosystems
  • Environmental health
  • Environmental planning
  • Environmental policy and Canada
  • Environmental science
  • Geographic Information Systems
  • Global Positioning System
  • Hydrology
  • Landscape architecture
  • Landscape design
  • Landscape protection
  • Land use and planning
  • Remote sensing
  • Soil management
  • Soil science
  • Sustainable land use
  • Wildlife management

When browsing the library shelves, remember that the Integrated Environmental Planning-related materials will be in a variety of locations. You may want to browse these sections for books on earth sciences, ecology, hydrology, wildlife conservation and more.

  • G 70 - G 142: Geographical Information Systems / Mapping / Aerial geography
  • GB 651 - GB 2798: Hydrology / Watersheds
  • GE 1 - 350: Environmental Sciences
  • GF 51 - GF 75: Humans and the environment
  • HD 101 - HD 1395.5: Land use / Landscape planning
  • QE 1 - QE 996.5: Geology / Mineralogy
  • QH 540 - QH 549.5: Ecology
  • QK 1 - QK 989: Botany / Plant physiology / Plant and tree identification
  • S 590 - S 599.9: Soil science / Soil ecology
  • S 900 - S 972: Natural resources / Land conservation
  • SK 351 - SK 579: Wildlife management / Game protection
  • TA 501 - TA 625: Surveying

| top of page |

Articles and Databases

Search article databases to find journal & magazine articles.  Recommended databases for IEP include:

More databases can be found at:  Research databases > Environment  |  Sciences

A complete list of databases can be accessed from our homepage:  FIND > Research Databases

| top of page |

Journals

These are just a few of the many Integrated Environmental Planning-related journals that you can access online or through Selkirk College Library. Click on the links to find out where you can access these journals.

| top of page |

Websites

There are many resources available online to aid you in your learning and research. You can also find links below to government agencies and non-profit organizations.

Government Sites

Conservation and Protection Organizations

Professional Organizations

Research Organizations

| top of page |

Research and Writing Guides

Research and writing guides are available in the library for you to use during every stage of the research and writing process. Take a look if you want to improve your research, reading, and writing skills.

Citations

Writing

  • Making Sense in Geography and Environmental Sciences: A Student's Guide to Research and Writing G 74 N67 2001
  • Pocket Guide to Technical Writing T 11 P437 2004
  • Technical Communication: A Practical Approach T 11 P44 2007
  • Writing in the Sciences (Colorado State University) ONLINE
  • Writing Papers in the Biological Sciences QH 304 M36 2006

| top of page |