Library

Classroom and Community Support Worker

Background Information | Books and E-Resources | Article Databases | Journals | Websites | Research and Writing Guides

Background Information

These select sources are intended to give the reader a general overview of aspects of Classroom and Community Support. Please check the Library catalogue or browse the shelves for more print resources specific to your topic.

For more information, you may want to see the Selkirk College Child and Youth Care subject guide, the Early Childhood Care and Education subject guide and the Social Service Worker subject guide.

General Works

  • Autism Spectrum Disorders: From Theory to Practice WM 203.5 H177A 2009
  • The Exceptional Child: Inclusion in Early Childhood Education LC 4019.2 A43 2012
  • Handbook of Learning Disabilities LC 4704 H364 2003
  • Inclusion in Early Childhood Settings: Children with Special Needs in Canada LC 4019.2 C76 2010
  • Language Disorders in Children: Fundamental Concepts of Assessment and Intervention WL 340.2 L36 2011
  • Learning Disabilities: From Identification to Intervention LC 4704 L386 2007
  • Mental Health Disorders in Adolescents: A Guide for Parents, Teachers and Professionals WS 463 H39 2011

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Statistics

| top of page |

Books and E-Resources

The Selkirk College Library has many books, e-books, and streaming videos on the subject of Classroom and Community Support. When searching the library catalogue, it may be useful to start with search terms such as:

  • Autism
  • Autism spectrum disorder
  • Anxiety disorders
  • Behavior disorders in children
  • Child psychology
  • Developmental disabilities
  • Emotional development in children
  • Inclusive education
  • Learning disabilities
  • Learning disabled children

When browsing the library shelves, remember that the Classroom and Community Support-related materials will be in a variety of locations. You may want to browse these sections for books on inclusion, special education, children with disabilities, and more.

    • BF 712 - BF 724.85: Developmental psychology
    • HQ 767.8 - HQ 799.2: Children / Child development / Adolescents / Teenagers
    • HV 1551 - HV 3024: People with disabilities
    • LC 1200 - LC 1203: Inclusive education
    • LC 3950 - LC 4806.5: Special education / Children and teens with disabilities / Children and teens with learning disorders
    • WL 340.2 - WL 340.6: Communication disorders / Speech therapy / Language therapy
    • WS 107 - WS 110: Learning disabled children / Learning disorder / Treatment
    • WS 350 - WS 350.8 S6: Child psychiatry / Behavior disorders / Autism

| top of page |

Article Databases

Search article databases to find journal & magazine articles.  Recommended databases include:

More databases can be found at:  Research databases > Social sciences

A complete list of databases can be accessed from our homepage:  FIND > Research Databases

| top of page |

Journals

These are just a few of the many Classroom and Community Support-related journals that you can access online or through Selkirk College Library. Click on the links to find out where you can access these journals.

| top of page |

Websites

There are many resources available online to aid you in your learning and research. You can also find links below to government agencies and non-profit organizations.

Associations and Organizations

Education Resources

General Disabilities Sites

Government Services

| top of page |

Research and Writing Guides

Research and writing guides are available in the library for you to use during every stage of the research and writing process. Take a look if you want to improve your research, reading, and writing skills.

| top of page |