Library

Early Childhood Care and Education

Background Information | Books and E-Resources | Article Databases | Journals | Websites | Research and Writing Guides

Background Information

These select sources are intended to give the reader a general overview of aspects of Early Childhood Care and Education. Please check the Library catalogue or browse the shelves for more print resources specific to your topic.

For more information, you may also want to see the Selkirk College Child and Youth Care subject guide, the Classroom and Community Support Worker subject guide, and the Social Service Worker subject guide.

General Works

  • Exploring Child Development HQ 767.9 F33 2003
  • Fundamentals of Early Childhood Education LB 1139.25 M67 2003
  • Handbook of Early Childhood Education LB 1139.25 H343 2012
  • Inclusion in Early Childhood Settings: Children with Special Needs in Canada LC 4019.2 C76 2010
  • Infants, Children and Adolescents WS 105 B47 2002
  • Theories of Human Development: A Comparative Approach BF 713 G74 2002

Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Statistics

| top of page |

Books and E-Resources

The Selkirk College Library has many books, e-books, and streaming videos on the subject of Early Childhood Care and Education. When searching the library catalogue, it may be useful to start with search terms such as:

  • Child care workers
  • Child psychology
  • Child rearing
  • Child development
  • Inclusive education
  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Special education
  • Early childhood development
  • Early childhood education

When browsing the library shelves, remember that the Early Childhood Care and Education materials will be in a variety of locations. You may want to browse these sections for books on child psychology, child care, health, education, and more.

  • BF 712 - BF 724.84: Developmental psychology
  • HQ 755.7 - HQ 799.2: Parenting / Family life / Child development
  • LB - LB 1602: Theories of education / Child education
  • LC 8 - LC 4806.5: School education / Inclusivity in education / Special education
  • WS 1 - WS 463: Child and adolescent health / Pediatrics / Psychiatry

| top of page |

Article Databases

Search article databases to find journal & magazine articles.  Recommended databases include:

More databases can be found at:  Research databases > Social sciences

A complete list of databases can be accessed from our homepage:  FIND > Research Databases

| top of page |

Journals

These are just a few of the Early Childhood Care and Education-related journals that you can access online or through Selkirk College Library. Click on the links to find out where you can access these journals.

| top of page |

Websites

There are many resources available online to aid you in your learning and research. You can also find links below to government agencies and professional associations

Research and Writing Guides

Research and writing guides are available in the library for you to use during every stage of the research and writing process. Take a look if you want to improve your research, reading, and writing skills.

| top of page |