Library

Social Service Worker

Background Information | Books and E-Resources | Article Databases | Journals | Websites | Research and Writing Guides

Background Information

These select sources are intended to give the reader a general overview of aspects of Social Service Work. Please check the Library catalogue or browse the shelves for more print resources specific to your topic.

For more information, you may want to see the Selkirk College Child and Youth Care subject guide, the Classroom and Community Support Worker subject guide, and the Early Childhood Care and Education subject guide.

General Works

  • Controversial Issues in Social Work: Ethics, Values and Obligations HV 10.5 C66 1997
  • Generalist Social Work Practice: An Empowering Approach HV 40 M55 2004
  • The General Method of Social Work Practice HV 11 T56 2002
  • Human Services: Concepts and Intervention Strategies HV 95 M35 2001
  • Social Work Practice: Treating Common Client Problems HV 40 S67 2001
  • Social Work Practice With Children and Adolescents HV 741 R67 2003

Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Statistics

| top of page |

Books and E-Resources

The Selkirk College Library has many books, e-books, and streaming videos on the subject of Social Work and Human Services. When searching the library catalogue, it may be useful to start with search terms such as:

  • Abuse of older people
  • Addiction
  • Adoption
  • Aging -- Social aspects
  • Child abuse
  • Crimes against women
  • Disabilities
  • Homeless persons
  • Housing
  • Poverty
  • Prostitution
  • Social case work
  • Social work practice

When browsing the library shelves, remember that the Social Work and Human Services-related materials will be in a variety of locations. You may want to browse these sections for books on families, child protection, people with disabilities, and more.

  • HQ 1 - HQ 2044: The family / Marriage / Women
  • HQ 19 - HQ 440.7: Sexuality / Prostitution
  • HQ 1088 - HQ 2030.7: Men / Women / Feminism
  • HV 40 - HV 4959: Social work / Protection / Assistance / Relief
  • HV 697- HV 700.7: Families / Mothers
  • HV 701- HV 1441: Children / Adolescents / Teenagers
  • HV 1442 - HV 1448: Women
  • HV 1450- HV 1494: Elderly
  • HV 1551 - HV 3024: People with disabilities
  • HV 5800 - HV 5840: Drug use / Drug addiction

| top of page |

Article Databases

Search article databases to find journal & magazine articles.  Recommended databases include:

More databases can be found at:  Research databases > Social sciences

A complete list of databases can be accessed from our homepage:  FIND > Research Databases

| top of page |

Journals

These are just a few of the many Human Services and Social Work-related journals that you can access online or through Selkirk College Library. Click on the links to find out where you can access these journals.

| top of page |

Websites

There are many resources available online to aid you in your learning and research. You can also find links below to government agencies and professional associations

Research and Writing Guides

Research and writing guides are available in the library for you to use during every stage of the research and writing process. Take a look if you want to improve your research, reading, and writing skills.

| top of page |