Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
These are just a few of the dictionaries and encyclopedias available in the Library or online. Please check the Library catalogue for more French language guides.
- Collins French Dictionary ONLINE
- The Concise Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary PC 2640 O92 2009
- Dictionnaire Visuel ONLINE
- The Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary PC 2640 O93 2007
- Larousse Encyclopédie ONLINE
- L'Encyclopédie Canadienne ONLINE
- Wikipédia: L'encyclopédie libre ONLINE
There are many works of French literature available in the library. Please browse section PQ 1165 - PQ 3919.2 of the General Collection to find books by authors such as Duras, Baudelaire, Hugo, Proust, Rimbaud and more (both in French and in English translation).
For an introduction to literature in French, you may want to check out these books:
- Anthologie de la Littérature Québécoise (in French) PQ 3913 A68 1996
- Francophone Literatures (in English) PQ 3809 J33 1996
Below are links to online articles, stories and e-books for French learners.
- About.com: French and Francophone Newspapers and Magazines ONLINE
- Athena (Literature in French) ONLINE
- ClicNet: Littérature francophone virtuelle ONLINE
- Project Gutenberg: Books in French ONLINE
Writing and Grammar
These are just a few of the many French writing and grammar guides available in the Library or online.
- 501 French Verbs: Fully Conjugated in all the Tenses in a New Easy-to-Learn Format, Alphabetically Arranged PC 2271 K378 2003
- Complete French Grammar PC 2112 H46 2008
- French Grammar: A Complete Reference Guide PC 2112 C25 2005
- Tex's French Grammar (University of Texas at Austin) ONLINE
To improve your French listening skills, check out these books and websites to listen to French lessons online, podcasts, short stories, news broadcasts and more.
- About.com: French and Francophone Radio Stations ONLINE
- Daily Frenchpod ONLINE
- French for Dummies audio set PC 2112 E76 2007 (at library main desk)
- Learn French by Podcast (podcast feed) ONLINE
- Michael Thomas' Speak French for Beginners PC 2112 T46 2006
- News in Slow FrenchONLINE
- Radio-Canada ONLINE
- Radio France Internationale ONLINE
These are many French language videos, news broadcasts, and television shows available to watch for free online.
- About.com: French and Francophone Television Stations ONLINE
- LaFrench TV ONLINE
- Radio Canada Télévision ONLINE
- TV5 Monde ONLINE
- wwi TV: Watch TV from France ONLINE
There are many resources available online to help you improve your French skills. Click on the links to discover more about French and French-Canadian culture, history, literature and more.
- About.com: French Language ONLINE
- Au Fil du Temps (History, culture, literature and news links)ONLINE
- Bonjour de France ONLINE
- Digital Dialects: French Language Learning GamesONLINE
- French Games for Learners ONLINE
- Portail linguistique du Canada ONLINE
- Tennessee Bob's Famous French Links (University of Tennessee at Martin)ONLINE
Search article databases to find magazine, newspaper & journal articles.
Practice your French by reading articles in the French language. (Use the search limiters to narrow your results by language & by publication type).
Recommended databases include:
More databases can be found at: Research databases > Language & Literature
A complete list of databases can be accessed from our homepage: FIND > Research Databases